Jams and Jellies

I vowed to myself at the beginning of summer that I was not going to make any more jams or jellies … I had too many on the shelf from last year!  Well, that vow lasted til August and I conviently forgot my vow to myself and made some amazing jams!

Rhubarb Jam … Pure rhubarb jam that has not been fouled up with strawberries or other distracting fruits/spices.  However, a bit of fresh orange juice does complement and enhances the tart flavor of the rhubarb.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/rhubarb-jam/detail.aspx  I decreased the sugar and it was still a bit too sweet for my taste, you could be conservative with the sugar and add more after it has simmered for awhile if it is too tart for you personally.

A super simple recipe, go make some with you or your neighbor’s excessive rhubarb plants!

2013-08-09 18.02.53

Sunny morning, fresh sourdough raspberry scones, rhubarb jam, strong hot coffee.  Marvelous.

2013-08-10 09.44.21

Raspberry Chocolate Jam

2013-08-13 21.32.37

http://www.loveandoliveoil.com/2012/07/chocolate-raspberry-jam.html

2013-08-13 21.40.06

Seriously, chocolate in raspberry jam?  Yes, make it right now!  It is AMAZING on popovers, in pb&j sandwiches, stirred into yogurt, ice cream … or just straight off the spoon!  I pretty much ate my weight in jam when I was making the jam.  Make sure you read and follow the directions about letting the jam sit for several hours after melting in the chocolate, then bringing it to a boil and cooking it at a rolling boil for 5 minutes.  That step I almost missed and it is crucial for the jam setting up.

2013-08-13 22.13.57

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jams and Jellies

  1. Diane says:

    Ohhh, that does sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

