Pintrest: Get in Touch With Your Creative Side

So there is this website called “Pintrest” which is a site full of artsy-fartsy creative ideas for crafts, home decorating, recipes, photography, etc.  You name it in the search engine and you will find it.  I was skeptical at first and also found it a little unnerving that the pictures you click on (because you are interested in learning more about them) suddenly alert all your friends (through facebook?) and now they are all in the know of your business.  However, I have mostly gotten over that and have used the site to spur on my own creative endeavors and it was been really fun!  Allow me to show you some of my tinkerings:

I found this skirt on pintrest which lead me to an etsy page and I ended up purchasing the pattern for $5 and one Saturday night, I burned the midnight oil and made my Easter outfit … literaly – I showered, dressed, and went to church only a few hours later!

   In case you too fall in love with the same skirt, here is the pattern link:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/92155813/spring-is-coming-happy-scrappy-skirt-pdf

Then I decided I need an quick knitting project and became intrigued by the felting process … became further inspired when friend Jenny whipped a bowel out in several hours (with 3 kiddos running around) … so I followed this tutorial and made this bowl.

Prefelted:  I made the larger one and Myriah made the smaller one.

 

Felting:  You need to wash it in hot water and irritate the yarn like crazy, harder than it looks believe it or not.

Post-felting:

Then I started on crock-pot cooking and I am hooked!  I don’t have much time to spend hours in the kitchen making dinner when I have all these other projects going on!

These recipes include –

Honey Beans & Spinach

1 (15-ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 onion, diced finely
2 medium (or 4 tiny) sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced (not pictured)
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground corriander
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 lemon, juiced
1/4 cup honey
1 (12-ounce) bag baby spinach, washed (even if the bag says washed, rinse it off again)
2 tablespoons cream cheese (optional)
 
Use a 6-quart slow cooker. Drain and rinse both cans of beans, and dump them into your crockpot. Add the onion, garlic, and sweet potato. Add dry spices, and stir in honey and lemon juice– you want the beans and veggies in the pot to be coated with them. Rinse off your spinach, and add it to the pot. You’ll need to squish it all in, but I promise it’ll fit. Plop a dollop of cream cheese on top. Cover, and cook on low for 6 hours, or on high for about 3. Stir well before serving over a bed of white or brown basmati rice.
 
 
Crockpot Rice Pudding
 
8 cups milk
1 cup white rice
1 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla
 
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1/4 tsp salt
 
Combine 8 cups milk, rice, sugar in crockpot.  Cook on high for 2-3 hours.  Combine 1/2 cup milk, eggs, vanilla, salt then stir into the crockpot.  Re-cover and cook another 20 minutes, pudding will continue to thicken.  Sprinkle with cinnamon or nutmeg.
 
Both recipes are great and have been made twice in the past 2 weeks!
 
Pallet Gardening
 
 
 
 
I swore off gardening this year due to my previous unsuccessful attempts until I came across this idea.  A pallet garden, which is a brillant idea for my deck!  I’ve planted a few seeds even though it is mid-April.  Stay tuned for garden updates.   http://kidtimes.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/spring-ahead/   If only I could be so lucky to have my pallet garden grow like this!
 
Terreriums:  Small scale & low maintance gardening.  According to Myriah, all that is missing is a little garden gnome.
 
 
 
Soap Making – it’s a party!  We made several kinds – the first is standard soap that the scents and additives are mixed in now and after the soap cures for 4-6 weeks it is ready to use.
 
  
 
      The soaps in the can molds are grapefruit-oatmeal and a peppermint-oatmeal.
 
  
 
The soap below is going to be a cold-process soap.  After curing for 6 weeks, you re-grate the soap, melt it down again and then add the additives.  Cold-process soap is supposed to get better suds and hold the scent better.  We shall see in about one month if it is worth it.  Again, stay tuned …
 
 
 
 
  Neka crashed out during the soap making.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Recipes, Sewing & Craftiness, etc. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pintrest: Get in Touch With Your Creative Side

  1. backpackbee says:

    You are certainly a busy-bee! I love, love, love the skirt! I’m thinking this might be something that I could sew! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

