All things Alaskan

Suddenly I feel like I am a true Alaskan…after living in Juneau for 5 years, I think I/we are starting to get the hang of living here.  There is bear meat in the freezer next to halibut, salmon, moose and caribou.  There is salmonberry jam in cabinet.  There are salmon fillets marinating in brine waiting to be smoked later this evening.  The neighborhood bear got into the trash can again this morning and had it strewn all across the deck and into the woods.  I run out my backdoor on a regular basis and hit a trail in any direction.  Going out on the boat for fishing or camping is a regular occurance. Wearing a sweater and down vest in July is normal. Rain … whatever.  How did I get so lucky?

This entry was posted in Camping & Outdoor Adventures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All things Alaskan

  1. Krista says:

    Wow…I can’t believe it has been 5 years since you moved to AK! I’m glad you are so happy there! Someday (hopefully sooner than later) I will come visit you and you can take me on a hike/run…but you will have to be nice to me! I am undergoing PT right now for my ankle..hopefully I’ll be running again and be painfree before too long!

Leave a Reply

